I don’t know about you, but I so ❤ football season. There's just something special in the air. So much possibility, so much promise. The field is my oyster. Or something like that.

Anyway, football season is here. Rained down on us with a hailstorm of NFL gear, SportsCenter advertisements, and tailgating beer commercials. YES! I can taste the Bud Light and Velveeta/Rotel dip already. Hallelujah! As much as I do make light of it, I really do love football season. I love waking up on Saturday morning and checking (again) to see who we'll be playing that day. I love waking up on Sunday morning and doing the same thing for NFL teams. I love hosting the parties, from planning what I'll make for snacks to stocking the fridge with beer.

Fall is my favorite time of year anyway. When the leaves fall on windy days, the air crackles with magic. Halloween makes me tingle with anticipation. The sweatshirts come out, and many of those sweatshirts have a team emblem on them. Yup, it’s football pride. Even when we fans don’t agree, we can recognize a mutual respect that comes from the love of the game. It’s a connection of shared passion. Acquaintances can become best friends, and best friends can become mortal enemies. At least until February…

